CD / DVD info & reviews
« »

CD / DVD info & reviews

CD / DVD info & reviews

DVD available in December 2016

clasart_brahmsrq_bdpackshot3d


The list is in alphabetical order by composer and by title of compilation if multiple composers

{ 10 comments… read them below or add one }

Petra April 20, 2018 at 3:32 pm

Hello Milly, as far as I know was “Premiere Opera” closed (by force – law??) and “newly opened” as “House of Opera” – the quality of older recordings is mostly VERY BAD BUT expensive that’s why we do not advertise these recordings.
There was NEVER a commercial recording made of this TV broadcast! It is sad but so it is.

Milly April 19, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Thank you, Gwyn and Sue for replying to my query. I had ordered a copy of the film from Premiere Opera in the US and the picture and audio quality were worse than the YouTube clips, so I’ll take your advice and order one from House of Opera and hope that the quality is slightly better. It’s a tragedy that there was never a commercial DVD made of this version of Cosi; the wonderful voices and acting of Simon Keenlyside, Rainer Trost and the Susans Chilcot and Graham are unsurpassed and unforgettable. Was there not a VHS recording either? I have a VHS player (still!) and would grab a Video if one was available, or a CD which I can’t find either … Thanks again for your info on this.

Sue February 7, 2018 at 1:01 pm

Hello Milly,
Gwyn is correct that there is no commercial recording of Cosi from 1996 but a copy of the TV broadcast is available from House of Opera here: http://www.operapassion.com/dvd527.html
The reference no. is dvd527. The picture and audio quality is not wonderful – similar to the YouTube clips – but not only is it a record of Simon’s performance, it is also special as a memory of the lovely Susan Chilcott’s Fiordiligi.
Sue

Gwyn February 5, 2018 at 12:02 pm

Unfortunately no commercial DVD of these performances has ever been released.

Milly February 4, 2018 at 6:35 pm

Has a DVD ever been released of Cosi fan tutte at the Palais Garnier, Paris, in 1996, with Simon Keenlyside in the role of Guglielmo? The opera was televised, but there are just a few video clips on youtube.

Sue October 22, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Hello D Patterson
Simon’s wonderfully funny Count Almaviva under Muti at Theater an der Wien in 2001 was televised and is available from Premiere Opera. This link should find it:-
http://www.premiereopera.com/dvd6235lenozzedifigaro.aspx
or search for DVD no. 6235. It’s hard to find because they have spelt his name incorrectly as Kennlyside.
Unfortunately, I can’t help you with any of the other operas. If only they were available….

D. Patterson October 16, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Is there any chance that a DVD will ever be released with Simon Keenlyside’s complete performance as Billy Budd? Or of The Marriage of Figaro, showing his complete performance as Count Almaviva? or his complete performance as Wozzeck? or his complete performance as Don Giovanni in the Barcelona production? He is a great singing actor. Videos of these performances must exist and should be available for enjoyment and study now and in the future. Availability even of more excerpts would be some help. And if he were to publish a book on the insights he got as he pondered his roles and how he came to conceive roles like Papageno and Don Giovanni in such surprisingly different ways at one time or another, it would make wonderful reading for his public and for future singers.

diana jones July 23, 2012 at 1:16 pm

According to Presto Classical website, Simon’s recording of Elijah with the Gabrieli Consort is due to be released on August 28th.After hearing the performance at last year’s proms, and seeing Simon singing it at the Barbican this year, I can’t wait to get the cd!!
Diana.
http://www.prestoclassical.co.uk/r/Signum/SIGCD300

diana jones January 10, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Hello Stefano, sorry I don’t speak Italian, but I think you are asking when Macbeth dvd is available in Italy? On Opus Arte website it is available to pre-order now for release date 1/2/12 on dvd or blue-ray. Hope this is helpful.
Diana.

STEFANO WACHSBERGER January 9, 2012 at 3:31 am

volevosapere quando uscira’ in italia , macbeth con simon diretto da pappano

Leave a Comment