In Exile - Concert

Symphony Hall, Birmingham

| 9 December 2021 |
7:30 pm

    Orchestra : City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
    Conductor : Gergely Madaras

    Raphael Wallfisch : Cello
    Simon Keenlyside : Baritone



Sibelius Finlandia, 8′

Dove In Exile, 30′ (CBSO Centenary Commission: UK Premiere)

Dvořák Symphony No.9 (New World), 40′


From the CBSO website:

"..Grand passions, glorious tunes: Sibelius’s Finlandia and Dvořák’s New World are two classics that just never get old (even if the Hovis advert was nearly 50 years ago now!). But tonight, we’re creating new memories too, with the UK premiere of In Exile by Jonathan Dove: a heartfelt musical journey for two great British soloists, written specially for us by one of our most communicative – and brilliant – living composers...."


More information and tickets

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast this concert live on 09 December at 7.30pm UK time. It will be available online on BBC Sounds for 28 days after the live broadcast.B


Raphael Wallfisch talks about the commission at the end of this interview with The Arts Desk: